Home Page


Jigsaw brings together PSHE Education, emotional literacy, social skills and spiritual development in a comprehensive scheme of learning. Teaching strategies are varied and are mindful of preferred learning styles and the need for differentiation. Jigsaw is designed as a whole school approach, with all year groups working on the same theme (Puzzle) at the same time. This enables each Puzzle to start with an introductory assembly, generating a whole school focus for adults and children alike.


There are six Puzzles in Jigsaw that are designed to progress in sequence from September to July:
Autumn 1: Being Me in My World
Autumn 2: Celebrating Difference (including anti-bullying)
Spring 1: Dreams and Goals
Spring 2: Healthy Me
Summer 1: Relationships
Summer 2: Changing Me (including Sex Education)


Each Piece has two Learning Intentions: one is based on specific PSHE learning (covering the non-statutory
national framework for PSHE Education but enhanced to address children’s needs today); and one is based
on emotional literacy and social skills (covering the SEAL learning intentions but also enhanced). The
enhancements mean that Jigsaw is relevant to children living in today’s world as it helps them understand
and be equipped to cope with issues like body image, cyber and homophobic bullying, and internet safety.