Home Page

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

At Beeston Fields Foundation Unit we ensure that we follow the statutory requirements and practice of the Early Years Foundation Stage.


The four important themes are:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development


We are committed to the themes, principles and practice outlined in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), a summary of which can be seen below.


Our curriculum and learning is planned through the children's interests and the seven areas of learning and development detailed in the EYFS. These are:


The three prime areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


The four specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Please download this booklet for further information for parents/carers regarding the EYFS

Please click on the link below for further information regarding the EYFS.